Skip to main content

18th Annual Workers' Memorial Day/May Day Dinner — Sun. April 28 in Rumford

Andy O’Brien
Social share icons

The Western Maine Labor Council will host its 18th Annual Workers' Memorial Day/May Day Dinner on Sunday, April 28, at the 49 Franklin Reception Hall & Mystic Theater, 49 Franklin Street, Rumford. Social time begins at 4:30 pm with a cash bar. Opening ceremonies begin at 5:15pm with dinner served at 5:30.

Workers' Memorial Day, observed worldwide on April 28, is a day of remembrance and action for workers who were killed, disabled, injured, or sickened in the course of their work. May Day or Workers Day is set aside to commemorate the struggles and victories of all workers worldwide. The evening will include a delicious buffet meal, a moving ceremony honoring Maine workers who lost their lives on the job last year, award presentations, raffles, and more.

The Keynote Speaker is Dr. Jason Moyer-Lee, Director, Maine DOL Bureau of Labor Standards.

Three awards will be given this year to strong champions of workers' rights and workplace safety:

  • The Bruce D. Roy Award will be given to honor: Allan Shepard, Treasurer, and former President, Organizer, and Training Director IBEW 567
  • The Workers’ Solidarity Award will be given to honor: Western Maine Transportation City Bus Drivers Lewiston Auburn, Amalgamated Transit Union (ATU) 714
  • The Frances Perkins Award will be given to honor: Brian Bryant, International President of the Machinists Union, IAMAW and a native of Jay.Starting his career with IAM S6 at BIW, he has dedicated his life to enhancing workers' rights through his diligent efforts at IAM.

There is limited seating so please make your reservations ASAP! To RSVP contact Linda Deane at 207-491-8168 or with “Workers Memorial” in the subject line. Reservations include a commitment to purchase tickets. All proceeds will benefit the Western Maine Labor Council.